» » Monsters Of Folk - Monsters Of Folk

Monsters Of Folk - Monsters Of Folk album flac

Monsters Of Folk - Monsters Of Folk album flac Performer: Monsters Of Folk
Title: Monsters Of Folk
Style: Indie Rock
Released: 2009
Country: US
MP3 album: 1657 mb
FLAC album: 1776 mb
Rating: 4.3
Other formats: XM ADX AC3 MP3 MIDI MMF FLAC
Genre: Rock

Monsters of Folk was an American supergroup, consisting of Jim James from My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis from Bright Eyes, Will Johnson from Centro-matic and M. Ward, solo artist and half of She & Him. The band was formed in 2004 when the members were on tour with their respective bands and solo projects. After playing together both on-stage and backstage, they started working together on various material.

Monsters of Folk is the self-titled first studio album by American indie rock band Monsters of Folk, a group that consists of the artists Jim James, Conor Oberst, M. Ward, and Mike Mogis. Originally slated for release in 2010, the album was released through Shangri-La Music and Rough Trade on September 22, 2009. Dear God (sincerely . " samples Trevor Dandy's 1970 gospel song "Is There Any Love.

Monsters of folk would like to thank the many fans who submitted an entry to the Dear god video contest. We are currently watching the videos, and will be announcing a winner in the coming weeks. Dear god video contest! We are looking for someone to create a compelling video for the song Dear god. All you have to do is create a video, post IT to youtube, and tag IT with the words Dear folk monster.

Monsters of Folk is an indie folk supergroup consisting of Conor Oberst (of Bright Eyes and several other groups), Mike Mogis (of Bright Eyes and Lullaby For The Working Class), Jim James (of My Morning Jacket) and M. Ward (of She & Him as well as a successful solo musician). Ward also plays keyboards and Mogis and James play drums on the album.

Truth be told, Monsters of Folk's emphasis on harmony vocals and atmospheric arrangements has just as much in common with the work of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, even if the political concerns that grounded that group are mostly absent here.

Album · 2009 · 15 Songs. More By Monsters of Folk. See All. Say Please - Single. Whole Lotta Losin’ - Single.

Monsters of Folk are a modern super group of sorts, its principles all highly-visible figures of alternative rock. Jim James (nee Yim Yames) is the titular leader of Southern eclectics My Morning Jacket. M Ward is the contemporary archetype of singer/songwriter, who in addition to performing appropriately solo, also does regular tours as part of a duo dubbed She and Him (with actress Zooey Deschanel).

Monsters Of Folk, comprising Jim Jones (My Morning Jacket), Matt Ward (M. Ward/She & Him), Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis (both Bright Eyes) might, on paper, read as the next Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, with a creative dynamic that ought not disappoint. Opener 'Dear God (Sincerely . ' makes an endearing and ethereal start, snatching percussive samples from Trevor Dandy's 1970 song 'Is There Any Love'. Stylistically, the album doesn't falter: plaudits are due to Jim and Mike for their technical additions and structural direction.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)
Electric Piano [Wurly], Steel Guitar, Effects [Sound] – Mike*Vocals, Bass – Conor*Vocals, Drum Programming, Guitar, Mellotron [Tron], Synthesizer – Yim*Vocals, Guitar – Matt*
2 Say Please
Bass, Vocals – Matt*Drums, Vocals – Yim*Electric Guitar, Organ, Synthesizer, Backing Vocals – Mike*Guitar, Vocals – Conor*
3 Whole Lotta Losin'
Drum Programming, Percussion, Bass [Solo], Synthesizer, Vocals – Yim*Guitar [Baritone] – Mike*Vocals – Conor*Vocals, Guitar, Piano – Matt*
4 Temazcal
Bass, Backing Vocals – Yim*Drum Programming, Synthesizer, Electric Piano [Wurly] – Mike*Guitar, Backing Vocals – Matt*Vocals, Guitar – Conor*
5 The Right Place
Bass, Backing Vocals – Matt*Guitar, Piano [Tac], Backing Vocals – Conor*Mandolin, Steel Guitar, Vocals – Mike*Vocals, Drums, Guitar, Synthesizer – Yim*
6 Baby Boomer
Bass, Vocals – Yim*Drums, Percussion, Vocals – Conor*Steel Guitar – Mike*Vocals, Guitar – Matt*
7 Man Named Truth
Bass, Backing Vocals – Yim*Guitar, Backing Vocals – Matt*Mandolin, Guitar [Baritone], Percussion, Backing Vocals – Mike*Vocals, Guitar – Conor*
8 Goodway
Backing Vocals, Guitar – Conor*Bass, Backing Vocals – Yim*Mandolin, Resonator Guitar [Dobro] – Mike*Vocals, Guitar – Matt*
9 Ahead Of The Curve
Bass, Guitar, Synthesizer, Percussion – Mike*Drums, Backing Vocals – Yim*Guitar, Backing Vocals, Electric Piano [Wurly] – Matt*Vocals, Guitar – Conor*
10 Slow Down
Backing Vocals – Yim*Piano, Steel Drums – Conor*Steel Guitar, Bass, Bongos, Percussion – Mike*Vocals, Guitar – Matt*
11 Losin Yo Head
Bass – Mike*Drums, Backing Vocals, Mellotron [Tron] – Conor*Guitar, Piano, Backing Vocals – Matt*Vocals, Guitar, Mellotron [Tron] – Yim*
12 Magic Marker
Drums, Resonator Guitar [Dobro], Percussion – Mike*Electric Piano [Wurly], Bass, Backing Vocals – Matt*Guitar [Baritone], Backing Vocals – Conor*Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer – Yim*
13 Map Of The World
Acoustic Guitar [Ebow], Percussion – Mike*Bass [Synth], Guitar, Backing Vocals – Matt*Percussion, Guitar, Backing Vocals – Yim*Vocals, Guitar – Conor*
14 The Sandman, The Brakeman And Me
Backing Vocals – Conor*, Yim*Synthesizer, Cymbal – Mike*Vocals, Guitar – Matt*
15 His Master's Voice
Backing Vocals, Guitar – Conor*Guitar [Magic Lil], Effects – Mike*Piano, Backing Vocals – Matt*Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer, Other [Sirens], Drums – Yim*

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Blues Interactions, Inc.
  • Licensed To – Blues Interactions, Inc.


  • Art Direction, Design – Gary Burden, Jenice Heo
  • Engineer [Additional] – A.J. Mogis (tracks: 3), Adam Selzer (tracks: 14)
  • Illustration – Matthew Hollings
  • Mastered By – Bob Ludwig
  • Performer – Conor Oberst, Yim Yames*, M. Ward, Mike Mogis
  • Photography By – Autumn De Wilde*
  • Photography By [Booklet Inside Back Cover] – Butch Hogan
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Mike Mogis
  • Written-By, Producer – Monsters Of Folk


Recorded at ARC in Omaha, NE and Shangri-La Studio in Malibu, CA
Additional engineering at ARC on "Whole Lotta Losin"
Additional engineering at Type Foundry in Portland, OR on "The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me"
Mastered at Gateway in Portland, ME
"Dear God" contains a sample of "Is There Any Love" preformed by Trevor Dandy, Courtesy of The Numero Group

℗© 2009 Yamo-Obwa, LLC under exclusive license to Shangri-La Music LLC.

Gatefold sleeve with 20-page insert booklet that includes song lyrics.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4995879932926
  • ASIN: B002I17XWC

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
101058 Monsters Of Folk Monsters Of Folk ‎(CD, Album) Shangri-La Music 101058 US 2009
101047 Monsters Of Folk Monsters Of Folk ‎(2xLP, Album, Ltd) Shangri-La Music 101047 US 2009
none Monsters Of Folk Monsters Of Folk ‎(CDr, Album, Copy Prot., Promo, Wat) Rough Trade none Europe 2009
101044 Monsters Of Folk Monsters Of Folk ‎(CD, Album) Shangri-La Music 101044 US 2009
101047 Monsters Of Folk Monsters Of Folk ‎(2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Blu) Shangri-La Music 101047 US 2010